ADA National Network/FEMA Webinar Series: Emergency Management and Preparedness-Inclusion of Persons with Disabilities

Schedule 2016-17

These 90 minute webinars are delivered by the Pacific ADA Center using the Blackboard Collaborate webinar platform. All sessions will be captioned, recorded and archived.

This program is delivered via both webinar platform and via telephone (additional charges may apply). Real-time captioning is available via the webinar platform.

Webinars begin at ET: 2.30pm, CT: 1.30pm, MT:12.30pm, PT:11.30am, Hawaii: 8.30am.

ADA National Network Learning Session: National Fire Protection Association's Emergency Evacuation Planning for People with Disabilities

27th October, 2016

Register here to attend this webinar.

PLEASE NOTE: THIS WEBINAR HAS BEEN RESCHEDULED TO OCTOBER 27, 2016 AT 2:30 EASTERN TIME. If you have previously registered for the cancelled October 13 date, you do NOT need to re-register.

General advice about major disasters says each of us will very likely need to take care of ourselves for the first 24 to 72 hours. The former chair of the National Fire Protection Association's (NFPA) Disability Access and Review Committee said " Every one of us should be prepared to take some responsibility for our own safety regardless of our circumstances."

To that end, the NFPA has created the Emergency Evacuation Planning Guide for People with Disabilities which provides assistance to people with disabilities, their employers, building owners and managers, and others as they develop emergency evacuation plans that integrate the needs of people with disabilities. This guidance can be used in all buildings, whether old or new.

This webinar will review the 2nd edition of this Planning Guide and provide major topics and updated materials.

Learning objectives:

  • Identify the specific functions that are part of a process of evacuating a building and how to build a successful plan.


Allan Fraser is the Senior Building Code Specialist on the National Fire Protection Association's (NFPA) staff. Before joining NFPA, he had been the Building Commissioner in 5 different Massachusetts municipalities over twenty seven years. He is a Certified Building Official and a Certified Professional Code Administrator. He staff's NFPA's Disability Access Review and Advisory Committee. He represents NFPA on a number of committees of other standards developers.